This is the "Home" page of the "McCain Library Special Collections and Archives" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

McCain Library Special Collections and Archives   Tags: agnes_scott  

Learn about our collection of material relating to important people and events in Agnes Scott College history.
Last Updated: Dec 3, 2014 URL: http://libguides.agnesscott.edu/speccoll Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome

The Special Collections and Archives of Agnes Scott College McCain Library contains material related to the history of the college, its founder, students, faculty, and campus life over the years.

Materials in archives and special collections are available for use by appointment only, with the exception of material on display in the Noble Heritage Center, which does not require an appointment for those hours it is open (hours below - see Noble Heritage Center tab for further information). Contact Marianne Bradley, Library Administrative Coordinator, for more information (404-471-6339).  Appointments are generally available 8:30 - 4:30, Monday through Friday (Monday through Thursday during June and July).   Other times may be possible by special arrangement.

The Noble Heritage Center is located in McCain 204 (see Noble Heritage Center tab for further information).  Regular hours vary by semester. Summer hours are by appointment only.

 

Our Archival Collections

Agnes Scott College archives include materials relating to the history and administration of the college, its faculty, staff and alumnae. The collection includes Scott family materials, faculty materials, artifacts, college and student publications, photographs, minutes, administrative reports and other materials.

To view selected material from the college archives online, see the Online Collections tab. Currently available material includes yearbooks and catalogs, alumnae magazines, presidents reports to the Board of Trustees, college histories, and other related material.

 

 

Our Special Collections

Special Collections

The Special Collections of the McCain library include the Robert Frost Collection, Catherine Marshall Collection (see tab), Wilburn Collection, Gone with the Wind Collection, Posey Collection and Agnes Scott faculty and alumnae publications.

Robert Frost Collection

Robert Frost visited Agnes Scott College 20 times - in 1935, 1940, then annually from 1945 through 1962.  The Robert Frost Collection is a collection of books by and about Frost, periodicals in which poems were published, photos of Frost on the Agnes Scott campus and clippings related to his life and works. For detailed information about the collection, see the book: Robert Frost at Agnes Scott College.

 

Catherine Marshall Collection

The Catherine Marshall Collection includes Catherine Marshall's personal papers, correspondence, book drafts and research notes, etc.  For additional information, see the Catherine Marshall Collection tab in this guide.

 

Wilburn Collection

The Wilburn Collection consists of a collection of architectural plan books published between 1914 and the mid-1950s by Agnes Scott alumna Leila Ross Wilburn, one of Georgia's first women architects. Scans of these books may be found online courtesy of the MAK Historic District, a neighborhood adjacent to Agnes Scott which includes a number of Wilburn homes.


Gone with the Wind Collection

The Gone with the Wind Collection consists of a collection of US and international editions of Gone with the Wind, originally belonging to Margaret Mitchell's personal secretary, Margaret Baugh. Several of the editions are inscribed by Margaret Mitchell to Miss Baugh.


Posey Collection

The Posey Collection consists of a collection of books relating to the history of religion on the American frontier. Dr. Walter Brownlow Posey, Professor of History at Agnes Scott College from 1943-1970, donated the collection to the college. Browse the Posey collection in the catalog.

 

Faculty publications

The Agnes Scott faculty collection consists of works by current and previous Agnes Scott College faculty. Browse Agnes Scott faculty publications in the catalog.



Alumnae publications

The Agnes Scott alumnae collection consists of works by Agnes Scott College alumnae. Browse alumnae publications in the catalog.

 

Have an Archives Question? Ask Us!

 

Our Manuscript collections

Manuscript Collections

The manuscript collections include letters, diaries and other papers of individuals. Detailed information about the manuscript collections can be found by searching by author in the library catalog (SOPHIA). The manuscript collections include these collections:

  • Bill Arp, 1826-1903
  • Frank Henry Gaines, 1852-1923
  • Catherine Marshall, 1914- Condensed Finding Aid
  • James Ross McCain, 1881-1965
  • Agnes Scott College Board of Trustees
  • Agnes Scott College Citizenship Club
  • Agnes Scott College International Relations Club
  • Agnes Scott College Mnemosynean Literary Society
  • Agnes Scott College Propylean Literary Society
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip