Encyclopedias
Scholarly vs. Popular
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Guide to Library Research  Tags: topic call number video tutorial evaluate find cite research tips hours bibliography background  

Learn the basics of library research
Last update: Nov 17th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.agnesscott.edu/libraryresearch  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Scholarly vs. Popular             Print Page
  

Other Resources on Scholarly vs. Popular

This is an important issue everywhere! Here are some guides from different libraries on the issue of scholarly vs. popular journals. Each one demonstrates the information in a different way.

 
 

Scholarly vs. Popular

Distinguishing Scholarly Journals from Other Periodicals

Periodicals -- Journals and magazines -- are important sources for up-to-date information in all disciplines. It is often difficult to distinguish between the various levels of scholarship found in periodicals. In this guide we have divided the criteria for periodical literature into four categories:

  • Scholarly
  • Substantive News/General Interest
  • Popular
  • Sensational

Definitions:
According to Websters Third International Dictionary:

  • scholarly is defined as concerned with academic study, especially research,
    exhibiting the methods and attitudes of a scholar, and having the manner and appearance of a scholar;
  • substantive is defined as having a solid base, being substantial;
  • popular is defined as fit for, or reflecting the taste and intelligence of, the people at large;
  • sensational is defined as arousing or intending to arouse strong curiosity, interest or reaction.

Keeping these definitions in mind, and realizing that none of the lines drawn between types of journals can ever be totally clear cut, the general criteria are as follows.

Scholarly Journals

  • a sober, serious look
  • often contain many graphs and charts but few glossy pages or exciting pictures
  • always cite their sources in the form of footnotes or bibliographies
  • articles are written by a scholar in the field or by someone who has done research in the field
  • language is that of the discipline covered - it assumes some scholarly background on the part of the reader
  • main purpose is to report on original research or experimentation in order to make such information available to the rest of the scholarly world
  • many scholarly journals, though by no means all, are published by a specific professional organization

Examples of Scholarly Journals:

  • American Economic Review
  • JAMA: The Journal of the American Medical Association
  • Journal of Marriage and the Family (published by the National Council on Family Relations)
  • Modern Fiction Studies
  • Sex Roles: A Journal of Research

Substantive News or General Interest

  • may be quite attractive in appearance, although some are in newspaper format
  • often heavily illustrated, generally with photographs
  • sometimes cite sources, though more often do not.
  • articles may be written by a member of the editorial staff, a scholar or a free lance writer
  • language is geared to any educated audience - no specialty assumed, only interest and a certain level of intelligence
  • generally published by commercial enterprises or individuals, although some emanate from specific professional organizations
  • main purpose is to provide information, in a general manner, to a broad audience of concerned citizens

Examples of Substantive News or General Interest Periodicals:

  • Christian Science Monitor
  • Economist
  • National Geographic
  • New York Times
  • Scientific American
  • Vital Speeches of the Day

Popular Periodicals

  • many formats, although often somewhat slick and attractive in appearance
  • lots of graphics (photographs, drawings, etc.)
  • rarely, if ever, cite sources. Information published is often second or third hand and the original source is sometimes obscure.
  • articles are usually very short, written in simple language and are designed to meet a minimal education level - generally little depth to the content
  • main purpose is to entertain the reader, to sell products (their own or their advertisers), and/or to promote a viewpoint

Examples of Popular Periodicals

  • Ebony
  • Parents
  • People Weekly
  • Readers Digest
  • Sports Illustrated
  • Time

Sensational Periodicals

  • a variety of styles, but often use a newspaper format
  • language is elementary and occasionally inflamatory or sensational -they assume a certain gullibility in their audience
  • main purpose seems to be to arouse curiosity and to cater to popular superstitions - often with flashy headlines designed to astonish (e.g. Half-man Half-woman Makes Self Pregnant).

Examples of Sensational Periodicals

  • Globe
  • National Enquirer
  • Star
  • Weekly World News
 

Scholarly vs. popular video


Loading Video Clip...
 

Things to think about

Scholarly Articles vs. the Web - What's the Difference?

 
Scholarly Article
Webpage
Author Expert in the field; researcher Anyone; no credentials needed; may not disclose
Publisher Traditional publisher; professional association, university affiliation, commercial; e.g. "Academic Press" "Modern Language Association" Anyone; self-published; may not disclose
Selection Some editorial process; may be peer-reviewed None; no checks or evaluation
Audience Readers knowledgeable in the field Anyone with a connection to the web is possible
Purpose Advance a particular field; contribute to the literature of a discipline; "publish or perish" Could be anything: personal interest, personal agenda
Documentation References, bibliographies, footnotes None required
Point of View Usually (not always!) neutral Can be slanted or biased
Access Generally for a fee; cost of printed journal subscription, printed indexing, database that contains indexing and full-text Free; only need web access

Consider:

  • The "free web" is not where scholars in most disciplines publish.
  • If you use the web, you must carefully evaluate what you find.
  • The college and library pay large sums to provide access to the scholarly literature through print subscriptions and database access.
 

McCain Library

Profile ImageLibrarians are here to help!


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
McCain Library Reference Desk
404-471-6096
Send Email

And...


Library blog
asclibrary.wordpress.com

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait