Encyclopedias
Scholarly vs. Popular
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Guide to Library Research  Tags: topic call number video tutorial evaluate find cite research tips hours bibliography background  

Learn the basics of library research
Last update: Nov 17th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.agnesscott.edu/libraryresearch  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Research Tips             Print Page
  
 

Tips and Tricks

Watch some short videos about doing research to get a jump start!

Getting started with your research

Insider's guide to research

 
 

Research Tips

Research tips:

  • Work from the general to the specific. Find background information first, then use more specific and recent sources.
  • Record what you found and where you found it. Write out a complete citation for each source you find; you may need it again later.
  • Translate your topic into the subject language of the indexes and catalogs you use. Check your topic words against a thesaurus or subject heading list.

Need help clarifying your topic? Need ideas about where to look next? Want to be sure you're using a reference source effectively? Ask a Librarian!

 

Searching

Putting Concepts Together - Boolean AND, OR and NOT

Use AND and OR to combine keywords or phrases.

  • AND narrows a search - results must contain both terms.
    Use AND to combine separate concepts.
  • OR broadens a search - results can contain either term, or both.
    Use OR to combine synonyms.
  • NOT narrows a search - results can contain one term, not the other.
    Use NOT to exclude terms
Operator Sample Search The search will find...
AND careers
and
medicine
Items that contain both
"careers" and "medicine"
OR occupations
or
careers
Items that contain either
"occupations" or "careers"
NOT
(sometimes
AND NOT)
assisted suicide
not
kevorkian
Items that contain
"assisted suicide" but not "kevorkian


Truncation and Wildcards

A symbol at the end of a word stem provides for all variants on the word stem. The most commonly used symbol is the asterisk (*), but this varies among databases.

For example, a search for

librar*

will retrieve:

library, libraries, librarian, etc.

Be careful not to truncate too far, or you will retrieve unrelated words!

Internal Truncation

A symbol within a word provides for all possible variants inside a word or word stem. The most commonly used symbol for internal truncation is #. For example, a search for

wom#n

will retrieve:

woman, women

Look at online help for each database to determine the truncation symbols.


Phrase Searching

Some databases require a phrase to be in quotes.  Ex:"higher education"

 

McCain Library

Profile ImageLibrarians are here to help!


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
McCain Library Reference Desk
404-471-6096
Send Email

And...


Library blog
asclibrary.wordpress.com

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait