Encyclopedias
Scholarly vs. Popular
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Guide to Library Research  Tags: topic call number video tutorial evaluate find cite research tips hours bibliography background  

Learn the basics of library research
Last update: Nov 17th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.agnesscott.edu/libraryresearch  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Background Info             Print Page
  
 

Encyclopedias!

Find out more about Encyclopedias the library offers

Like Wikipedia? Try our database, Credo Reference

 
 

Finding Background Info

Finding Background Information

Once you have identified the main topic and keywords for your research, find one or more sources of background information to read. These sources will help you understand the broader context of your research and tell you in general terms what is known about your topic. The most common background sources are encyclopedias and dictionaries from the reference collection. Textbooks also provide background information.

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

  • You can find encyclopedias and dictionaries for specific topics by using SOPHIA, the McCain Library Catalog, by consulting the list of selected encyclopedias located in the reference area, or by asking a librarian to suggest appropriate titles.

Bibliographies

  • Read the background information and note any useful sources (books, journals, magazines, etc.) listed in the bibliography at the end of the encyclopedia article or dictionary entry. The sources cited in the bibliography are good starting points for further research.
  • Look up these sources in SOPHIA. Check the subject headings listed in the subject field of the record in the catalog. Then use those subject headings to locate additional titles.
  • Remember that many of the books and articles you find in the McCain Library Catalog and periodical indexes will themselves have bibliographies. Check these bibliographies for additional relevant resources for your research.

By using this technique of routinely following up on sources cited in bibliographies, you can generate a surprisingly large number of books and articles on your topic in a relatively short time.

 

Think about the Resources available to you

There are many different types of resources available to you for gathering information on your topic.

books, newspaper, magazine and journal articles, reference books, statstical compilations, websites and government publications

For differnet types of resources, there are different tools for finding them.

  • SOPHIA, the online catalog - find books, reference books, statistical compilations, sound and video recordings, journal and magazine titles. Also includes links to thousands of electronic books.
  • GALILEO - search in different databases for magazine, journal and newspaper articles. Also has full-text of some reference books and statistical information.
  • Websites - current news, government publications, public opinion, maps and more. Check out our subject guides for some selected research sites on various topics.

Timeline of Information

Information about events changes over time and becomes available in different formats and places.

Event Occurred... Source Type of Information Where to Find?
1-3 Days Ago Newspapers;
Internet
news reporting;
some analysis of data
Lexis Nexis Academic
or
On the Web
1 Week - Several
Weeks Ago
Popular
Magazines
overview of events;
some analysis;
still news reporting
Various resources on
GALILEO
Several Months Ago
and Longer
Scholarly
Journals
in-depth research;
detailed examination
Various resources on
GALILEO
1 -3 Years Ago
and Longer
Books lengthy analysis or
general discussion;
can be interdisciplinary
SOPHIA, the online catalog
More than 3
Years Ago
Encyclopedias
Handbooks
Other Reference Sources
brief overviews or
summaries;
factual information
SOPHIA, the online catalog

Based on UCLA Help Guide: The Flow of Information, originally at http://wwwtest.library.ucla.edu/libraries/college/help/flow/ (link no longer active)

 

McCain Library

Profile ImageLibrarians are here to help!


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
McCain Library Reference Desk
404-471-6096
Send Email

And...


Library blog
asclibrary.wordpress.com

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait