Artists
Comments (0)
Encyclopedias & News Articles
- Oxford Art OnlineProvides brief biographies of Morimura, Kruger, Mann, and Witkin.
Essays on History of Photography and Photographic Techniques - Lexis Nexis AcademicCross-search 1000s of newspapers to locate articles about your artist and exhibitions. Tip: Choose the Advanced search option on the left side of the screen. Then type your search in the following format -- artist name AND (photography or exhibition). Finally select All News (English) as the source.
Scholarly Articles
The Discover Search Engine cross-searches all of the library databases using one set of keywords. If the number of results are overwhelming, try your search in one of the subject focused databases below.
Books about Photographic Techniques
- Find Books in McCain LibraryBrowse a list of subject terms related to photography to learn what kind of books McCain Library has about photographic techniques and theories. Tip: Write down the terms most useful for your research.
- Find Books at Other Libraries using WorldcatWorldcat lets you search for books located in libraries across the country. You can either submit an interlibrary loan request to have the book send to McCain Library (for free!) or identify local libraries that may have a copy available for you to pick up today with an interlibrary use card. Tip: Use the Advanced Search screen and search for the subject terms you wrote down when search McCain Library's catalog.
Image Databases
- ARTstor Digital LibraryARTstor is a digital library of nearly one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images.
- CAMIOOCLC's Catalog of Art Museum Images Online — is a growing online collection documenting works of art from around the world, representing the collections of prominent museums. CAMIO highlights the creative output of cultures around the world, from prehistoric to contemporary times, and covering the complete range of expressive forms.
- Library of Congress Prints & Photographys Online CatalogThe Prints & Photographs Online Catalog (PPOC) provides access through group or item records to more than 50% of the Division's holdings, as well as to some images found in other units of the Library of Congress. Many of the catalog records are accompanied by digital images--about one million digital images in all.
Research Tips
- Start with a catalog of the artist workUsing Sophia (Find a Book) or Worldcat look for books that are catalogs of the artist work. In library catalogs these will be labelled in the subject term as catalog or catalog raissonaie. Also, if the artist is listed as the author of the book it may be a catalog. Catalogs will focus on a specific exhibit or a collection of works and will have essays on the work.
- Look for Academic PressesWhen looking at a collection of books and catalogs try to select ones from Academic Presses. These include Phaidon, Thames and Hudson, and university presses (Yale, University of Chicago, University of California, MIT).
- Smaller pressesSmaller presses are fine, but they may be smaller exhibits.
- Recent publications are preferableThough there may be great books about an artist written in the 1940s, any self respecting scholar of an artist will cover the major points of all scholarship that came before them.
Live Research Help
More Research Help
Art History
- Last Updated Feb 25, 2013
This guide is a starting point for finding books, articles, images and more in your research in Art and Art History.
69 views this year
- Last Updated Feb 25, 2013
This guide is a starting point for finding books, articles, images and more in your research in Art and Art History.
69 views this year
Art Magazines & Journals in McCain Library
- Last Updated Sep 10, 2012
This guide lists the Art journals and magazines found in the McCain Library Reading Room. In addition it provides access to news feeds from major art publications.
7 views this year
- Last Updated Sep 10, 2012
This guide lists the Art journals and magazines found in the McCain Library Reading Room. In addition it provides access to news feeds from major art publications.
7 views this year
WorldCat Search Box
Borrow from Other Libraries
- Inter-Library Use CardGo to Emory, GA State, GA Tech, and other local schools and check out the books yourself.
- Interlibrary Loan - Books and ArticlesPlace a request to have books and articles sent to you. Articles will be emailed to you and books delivered to the McCain Library Circulation Desk.

Loading...
