This is the "Home" page of the "Course Guide: AS 299 / ART 296: Modern and Contemporary African Art" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Course Guide: AS 299 / ART 296: Modern and Contemporary African Art  

Last Updated: Mar 10, 2015 URL: http://libguides.agnesscott.edu/AfricanArt Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

African Art Journals Available Through McCain

Finding Books

Search SOPHIA to find books in McCain Library!

Listed are helpful subject terms:

Start by Searching the Scholarly Art Literature

  • Art & Architecture Complete  
      
    To cross search the scholarly art literature published since 1984, this is the best database. Many articles are available in full text, but if not a citation and brief abstract should provide enough information for deciding whether to request the article through interlibrary loan.
    [Default search mode: Boolean]
  • Art Index Retrospective  
      
    The Art Index Retrospective covers literature published between 1929-1984.
    [Default search mode: Boolean]

Broaden Your Search to Other Disciplines

Subject Specific Databases to Consider:

  • Historical Abstracts
    Search through abstracts of scholarly books and journals that focus on the history of the World. This database will allow you to search for a specific time period. Sample search for articles referencing African art/artists or images of Africans during the contemporary and modern art time frame.
    [Default search mode: Boolean]
  • SocINDEX
    A database containing articles from Sociology/Anthroplogy will be useful for examining social issues that may impact the development or perceptions of African art.
    [Default search mode: Boolean]
  • PsycINFO  
      
    A database containing articles from scholarly psychology journals that may be useful in understanding personal beliefs and feelings associated with issues in African Art.

Borrow from Other Libraries

Need Help?

Profile Image

Casey Long


Office: McCain 113
Phone: 404-471-6343
 

WorldCat Search Box

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip